Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Today HRH The Duke of Cambridge turns 30! Happy birthday! I began following royalty and studying European history in 1978. The Marriage of The Prince of Wales to Lady Diana Spencer was the first royal wedding I witnessed and I waited with excited anticipation when it was announced the Princess of Wales was pregnant. I was very curious to know what the name would be. If it was going to be a boy then he would be a future king and royal watchers love to guess the names of future royals. It turned out to be a boy and I was very pleased they chose the name William for it is also my first name. Also today he comes into the financial inheritance left to him buy his mother. It is reportage to amount to $16 million. Buckingham Palace reports that The Duke of Cambridge will celebrate his birthday with his wife, the Duchess of Cambridge and a few close friends. 

I think William has grown into a fine young man and with his new bride the future of the monarchy is in secure and capable hands. 

